Single Minded composition competition:
Compose an original work for solo pianoforte.
For the sixth year running, the Álvarez Chamber Orchestra (ÁCO) is inviting
composers of any age and nationality to submit works for a composition competition. 
There is a first prize of £1000,
the Mullord Award of £500,
a consultation with the Artistic Director
and the possibility of performance in a future ACO concert.
  1. The piano may not be prepared
  2. There is no specification as to the length or nature of the work for piano.
  3. There is no restriction on the number of works submitted by each composer but each   piece will incur the same entry fee of £26.
  4. The work may be a new piece or may have been written at any time in the composer’s career.
  5. Each piece should have a pseudonym printed on the cover, and the identity of the composer, including address, email, phone number, biography, photograph and programme notes in a separate sealed envelope also marked with the same pseudonym.
  6. The scores may be submitted electronically as pdf files with the composer's pseudonym as heading to the following address:  [email protected]
  7. Hard copies of scores should be sent to 5 Rensburg Road London E17 7HL
  8. The accompanying details should be sent in another email with the same heading to the same address.
  9. The deadline for score submission will be January 31st. Posted scores arriving later than that date will be disqualified unless postmarked with the closing date of the submission period.
  10. The entry fee is £26 per work which includes postage costs for return of scores.
  11. Payments may be made via Paypal by clicking here  or using the [email protected] address.
  12. If prefered, cheques may be made payable to The Álvarez Chamber Orchestra.
The judges will be selected from the following:
Geoffrey Alvarez: Composer, conductor, The Alvarez Chamber Orchestra
Dr Linda Hirst: Head of Vocal Faculty, Trinity College of Music. Distinguished international soloist.
Paul Patterson: Manson Professor of Composition, Royal Academy of Music  
Edwin Roxburgh: Composer and conductor: awarded the Cobbett Medal for
Services to Music. Formerly Professor at the Royal College of Music and Birmingham Conservatoire.
Richard Stoker FRAM: Formerly Professor at the Royal College of Music
Giles Swayne: Formerly Composer in Residence, Clare College, Cambridge 
The competition will be administered by ÁCO treasurer Trevor Huntley, Audrey Ellison, J Audrey Ellison International Artists' Management and secretary Phillip Costen.

All submissions will be returned with notes from the adjudication.

The jury reserve the right not to award a prize if the submissions are not of sufficient quality.
Further clarification:
Geoffrey Álvarez
Artistic Director/Conductor
The Álvarez Chamber Orchestra
[email protected]

Registered Charity No. 1120668
Company Limited by Guarantee No. 6227728.
Registered in England and Wales.
Registered Office: 5 Rensburg Road London E17 7HL
Telephone: +4420 8521 7642
Mobile: 07710 427 923